Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest

Follow up post to: Pirates
Also, a quick spoiler alert to those who haven’t seen the movie.

I’ve got to admit, I’m having a serious deja vu moment here. About two months ago, both my parents left for some party, leaving my brother and I alone with no one else to hear my screams as we watched a very exiting movie I had been waiting to watch for a long time (the movie was The Return of the King, just so you know, and this post was a result of that night). Now, tonight, the same thing has happened; I have been left alone with an AMAZING movie and, one again, upon finishing it I have raced to my computer to blog about it. But I assure you, the Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest was nowhere near as emotionally scarring as ROTK was (if it were, this post would consist of almost nothing but capital letters and exclamation points).

Probably the only reason why it wasn’t as traumatizing is because I’ve already seen the end of the third movie. I mentioned this in my post about the first Pirates movie, and now I’ve finally figured out that the movie I saw the end of on TV was in fact the third one. This (meaning the one I am currently BLOGGING about) is the second movie. But seriously, I mean, Jack Sparrow DIES!! And all that stuff with Barbossa coming back in the last 3 SECONDS OF THE MOVIE i mean way to go guys really? just really wow ok ANYWAY Its been kind of a while since I saw the 3rd one, so I don’t remember ALL of it, but Jack Sparrow was definitely there, so I know things get worked out somewhere along there. Also, when I was, like, 10 or something my brother got this Pirates of the Caribbean gift set– no idea who it was from, or what was in it– I just know one of the things was a book (or where there multiple books? I can’t remember…) but either way I remember something about Jack and the Black Pearl in a desert or something and a bunch of sand crabs carrying the ship, then something about the ship going over the edge of the world… I don’t even know anymore. Either way, there would have been a lot more stabbing and screaming (don’t worry, fake knife) if I had thought Jack was dead. Though, like I explained before, Jack isn’t quite hot enough for me to really love him, but he really reminds me a lot of myself (mostly because we both have weird hair no one else would even consider).

Now! Onto the actual second movie, the one I’m supposed to be blogging about! I loved it, just to make things clear. It was pretty amazing, I am just in awe of all the special effects. The makeup on Davy Jones’ crew is simply astounding, especially the barnacles on Bootstrap Bill’s face– the way they actually moved. Just incredible. Also, I noticed Bootstrap Bill is the same actor from Thor and The Avengers! Whoot! Oh, how I love it when my fandoms collide πŸ˜„ But they say Will and Bill Turner look exactly alike, but really they don’t at all. Orlando Bloom and this guy?

Nuh-uh just no not seeing it. Not to offend or anything, nothings wrong with Steven, he’s been in a lot of movies I like, just no, he’s not really hot at all.

Orlando Bloom was back in the movie, of course, he’s the best part of the whole thing πŸ˜€
Will Turner HOT
swoon
I died XP He’s just so hot!! That’s way I don’t really like Twilight. Cuz a movie just isn’t good unless there is at least ONE hot person in it, and like Jack was saying with Will’s soul being worth 4, I think his sexiness is the equivalent of having 4 sexy men in one movie. CUZ THATS JUST HOW FANGIRL LOGIC WORKS OKAY. Yay! There was a lot of Will/Elizabeth love in the movie– really, that’s what the whole thing is based on. Their wedding is ruined, they’re both arrested, and Will agrees to go all the way around the world to find a man he has no idea where he is just to free Elizabeth. Adorable! And then, of course, she goes after him, too. But in the big fight scenes, he wasn’t really freaked out or worried for her safety as much as I thought he should be– considering most of the time she was in more danger than he was. This is a sign that he doesn’t really love her, and I say good riddance, because that means more for me. Ahem. Anyway, he makes up for that later with the LOOK on his FACE when he catches Jack and Elizabeth kissing!!! Eeeek, it was the sweetest thing ever!!! And then later when she got into the boat, he said, “Where’s Jack?” and the jealously was SO CLEAR in his voice oh it was incredible πŸ˜€
POTC2_BTS012hires
And LOOK he has a puppy!! (or dog FINE whatever i like calling all dogs puppy because I LOVE DOGS) Honestly, one of my favorite parts of the movie was watching the bloopers at the end. Its so amazing when you get to see actors actually ACTING like themselves, seeing them in a role is one thing, but seeing him mess around and really laugh on set was so great. Because Will doesn’t actually get to laugh that much at all in the movies now that I think about it, so this was really great.
onset1

I think my favorite part from the actual MOVIE (not the bloopers) was the part when Will, Jack, and Norrington had been in that spinning wheel for so long that when they finally got out they kept falling over cuz they were so off-balance. Will fell on his face (in the water) twice and it was so funny and adorable, I died laughing right there!! DMCcaps673
(i feel like I’ve been dieing a lot lately… now there’s something you don’t hear every day ;D)

Also, when I was randomly surfing the web, I came across this song, and its so funny, I love it πŸ˜„

After watching this, I decided that there must be something about Orlando Bloom’s voice that makes people want to make absurd remixes about. I mean, first They’re Taking The Hobbits To Isengard, and now this? I told you before, I just love his voice, no idea why, but still… there’s something undeniably fabulous about it. I just LOVED how they kept referencing this in the second movie. Like in the beginning when Jack is drinking in the cabin and he runs out, the first thing he says is: “Why is the rum always gone?” And then when he saw Elizabeth later, he mutters to his first mate, “Hide the rum.” Both times I died laughing, and my brother thought he was missing something and he kept yelling “WHAT?! What just happened?” but I never told him πŸ˜€

And of course, Jack Sparrow had all the best lines!
Gibbs: So, we’re setting out to find whatever this key unlocks?
Jack Sparrow: No. If we don’t have the key, we can’t open whatever we don’t have that it unlocks. So what purpose would be served in finding whatever need be unlocked, which we don’t have, without first having found the key what unlocks it?
Gibbs: So, we’re setting out to find this key?
Jack Sparrow: Now you’re not making any sense at all.

Elizabeth Swann: There will come a time when you have a chance to do the right thing.
Jack Sparrow: I love those moments. I like to wave at them as they pass by.
^^^ sounds like something I would say πŸ˜„

All in all, though, I really do think I liked the first movie better. The love story was better because neither Will nor Elizabeth knew that they liked each other, so things are almost… I don’t know, awkward now that they’re really together. This one was also a lot more complicated. The first one wasn’t so simple that it was boring, but it was simple enough that the ending was really great and they didn’t have to make a sequel if they didn’t want to. In this one, there were about four problems going on at once (Jack and his deal with Davy Jones, Will and Elizabeth going free, the East India trading company wanting power, etc) and then as the movie went on even more problems came up (escaping the cannibals, getting Will off that ship, Will saving his father, Norrington regaining his honor, Elizabeth finding Will…). Finally there are so many problems that you can’t help but think that there’s just no way they could possibly solve everything by the end of the movie– and sure enough, almost nothing is solved in the end, and a lot of new problems are created in the last 5 minutes of the film (seriously, though, Barbossa shows up at literally the last 3 seconds of the movie. the movie ENDS with HIS LINE)

Still I really did love the movie a lot (I had to return it to the library the day after I watched it– god dammit, why can’t I ever keep a POTC movie long enough to watch it twice??!). Jack and Will were amazing as ever, and I loved Norrington’s surprise return, that was pretty awesome πŸ˜€ The whole movie was a success, I can’t believe it took me this long to see it– if you’re even sadder than I am and you haven’t seen it yet, you should. Definitely. Without a doubt πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

